The Mortal Instruments: City of Ashes Book Tour

The Mortal Instruments: City of Ashes Book Tour

3 minute read

Join Clary Fray, Jace Herondale, and the rest of the Shadowhunters on an epic adventure in The Mortal Instruments:City of Ashes, written by New York Times bestselling author Cassandra Clare. LitJoy’s special edition of the second book in The Mortal Instruments series contains special features and stunning tip-in art— check them out!


A striking image of the vampire star adorns the cover ofCity of Ashes. The book’s title was lettered by, and the artwork on the back cover (by @carloseqo) features the cunning Raphael Santiago. Inside, readers will find handwritten annotations from Cassandra Clare throughout the book, as well as BONUS CHAPTERS fromThe Shadowhunters’ Codex in the back.



Let's take a peek at the stunning tip-in art included inCity of Ashes! SPOILER WARNING for fantasy booklovers who have The Mortal Instruments series on their TBR list!





Tip-In Art #1: Clary Fray and Jace Herondale by @sophia_volovik

After Clary and Jace’s budding love is devastated by the news that they are brother and sister, they go down to the Seelie Court. There, Clary is tricked into drinking wine by a fairy, which means she’ll be trapped there! The Seelie Queen makes a deal with them: in order to leave, Clary must kiss “whom she most desired.” The Seelie Queen knows that Clary most desires Jace, even though Clary has decided to date her best friend Simon Lewis! Simon witnesses the kiss and runs off, heartbroken.








Tip-In Art #2: Simon Lewis by

Unfortunately, after Simon sees the kiss and runs away, he is caught and killed by a group of vampires. Raphael Santiago, another vampire, says that he can be saved if he is turned into a vampire as well. Once Simon has been turned, Raphael buries him in a Jewish cemetery. Clary feels immense guilt about Simon’s fate and waits for him in the cemetery, despite Raphael warning her to get away. This art piece depicts the moment that Simon turns into a new vampire as he looms over Clary and threatens to eat her! 


This stunning special edition of City of Ashes is part of our box set of The Mortal Instruments. Included in this box set are all 6 of The Mortal Instruments books: City of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass, City of Fallen Angels, City of Lost Souls, and City of Heavenly Fire. Shop our Special Edition The Mortal Instruments Box Set today! 




« Back to the Lounge